The New World

This program is a collection of musical love letters to the countries and cultures in which they were composed. The Moldau is Smetana’s romantic description of a trip down the Vltava River of the Czech Republic, from its source in the Bohemian forest to its majestic passage through Prague. Dvorak, also a Czech composer, wrote his New World Symphony while living in America, and modeled many of its themes on traditional Native American and African American music. Bruch’s beautiful Kol Nidrei, performed by our long-time cellist Juris Lakutis, takes its inspiration from two traditional Jewish melodies.

Date: Saturday, 12 March 2022 /4:00 pm / Live on YouTube*

*For the health and safety of our audience, our “The New World” program will be a live-streamed-only event.

Conductor: Alfonso Scarano
Soloist: Juris Lakutis, cello

Bedřich SMETANA: The Moldau (12’)
Max BRUCH: Kol Nidrei (10’)
Antonín DVOŘÁK: Symphony No. 9, op. 95 “From the New World” (40’)

Our website uses cookies to provide you with a better online experience. Please select "Accept" or "Cookie Settings" to set your cookie preferences. Detailed in our Privacy Policy

Privacy Preferences

You can choose cookie settings by Enabled/Disabled. Each type of cookie is available on demand, except for necessary cookies will always be enabled

Accept All
Manage Consent Preferences
  • Strictly Necessary Cookies
    Always Active

    Necessary Cookies are required for the effective operation of a website. They help ensure the website\'s basic functionality and security

  • Analytics Cookies

    Analytics cookies or performance cookies are used solely for statistical purposes. Analytics cookies allow us to measure the number of visitors, how they use it, and how well it performs.