“For me music begins where words cease. The germ and fertilization of my symphonies have been solely musical.”

These were the thoughts of Sibelius as he composed his seven symphonies. On this program we hear his first symphony, composed in a time when most composers favored single-movement works that told a story. Sibelius, taking his inspiration from the symphonies of Tchaikovsky, pressed the symphonic genre forward writing by music for its own sake. This is contrasted by Richard Strauss’s Duet Concertino which tells the story of Beauty and the Beast as represented by the clarinet and bassoon. The program begins with the world premiere of a work written especially for the Thailand Philharmonic by Italian composer Massimo Capogrosso.

เชิญมารับฟังคอนแชร์โตสำหรับสองเครื่องดนตรี คลาริเน็ต และ บาสซูน บรรเลงกับวงออร์เคสตรา ประพันธ์โดยริชาร์ด ชเตราส์ คู่กับซิมโฟนี หมายเลข 1 ของ ญอน ซิเบเลียส  เปิดรายการด้วยการแสดงรอบปฐมทัศน์ของผลงานชิ้นใหม่ของนักประพันธ์ชาวอิตาลี ฟาบิโอ มาสซิโม


  • 17 July 2020 / 7.00 p.m. / PMH (Pre-Concert Talk 6.15 p.m.)
  • 18 July 2020 / 4.00 p.m. / PMH (Pre-Concert Talk 3.15 p.m.)

Conductor: Alfonso Scarano


  • Sophie Pardatscher, clarinet
  • Magnus Nilsson, bassoon


  • Fabio Massimo CAPOGROSSO: (world premiere)
  • Richard STRAUSS: Duet Concertino for clarinet and bassoon
  • Jean SIBELIUS: Symphony No. 1, Op. 39

Tickets Price: 1500, 1000, 800, 600, 400 Baht
50% discount for Children and students below the age of 25 (or currently studying in an undergraduate program)

Buy Ticket

Ticket Reservation
Thaiticket Major – www.thaiticketmajor.com / Call Center 02-262-3456
PMH Box Office on TPO Concert Day (Friday since 5.00 p.m. – 9.00 p.m. / Saturday since 2.00 p.m.- 6.00 p.m.)
E-mail: mshall@mahidol.ac.th

Salaya Link shuttle bus available at BTS Bang Wa Station: www.music.mahidol.ac.th/salayalink