Dvořák and Tchaikovsky

Our principal timpanist, Wannapha Yannavut, takes center stage with a performance of Miyake’s exciting “Elpis” Marimba Concerto. This concerto was commissioned and premiered by the Thailand Phil in 2011 and we are proud to perform it again in celebration of its tenth anniversary.  Maestro Scarano finishes the program with his interpretation of Tchaikovsky’s lush and ever-popular Symphony No. 5.


  • Friday, 14 May 2021 / 7:00 pm / Prince Mahidol Hall
  • Saturday, 15 May 2021 / 4:00 pm / Prince Mahidol Hall

Conductor: Alfonso Scarano

Soloist: Wannapha Yannavut, marimba


  • Antonín DVOŘÁK: Czech Suite, Op. 39 (23’)
  • Kazunori MIYAKE: “Elpis” Marimba Concerto (15’)
  • Pyotr Ilyich TCHAIKOVSKY: Symphony No. 5 in E minor, Op. 64 (44’)

Salaya Link shuttle bus available at BTS Bang Wa Station: www.music.mahidol.ac.th/salayalink